13 in 7

Back home and back to training!

This week was my first week back at my home in Chesterton, and it is like I never left. Other than the 10-4 work shift I had Monday through Thursday to train at the local running store, (Extra Mile Fitness in Valparaiso, IN), this week was just like the old summers. When all I would do was get up, morning swim practice, lounge all day at the pool for work or at the beach for life, then second swim practice…it was tougher than it sounds!

Only now, I am 22 years old working part-time and waiting to hear about future “actual” jobs. Though an internship and job would be nice, I think a summer like my past week would be a pretty nice lifestyle for awhile!

So here was my week: I worked out 13 times in 7 days. And, as I write this my legs are doing that post-run shaking/soreness and my eyes are drooping. (And, I am shamefully admitting to going to bed before 10 p.m. probably 2-3 times this week). But, hey, when you get up at 5 a.m to swim, I need my beauty sleep.

MONDAY: Early morning chest and triceps lifting and afternoon easy 6 mile run in the trails

TUESDAY: 5 a.m. Masters swim practice-about 3300 yds and afternoon leg day-squats, lunges, hips/glutes

WEDNESDAY: Early morning back and biceps and afternoon 8 mile run in the dunes and firetrails. Then hour and 15 minute yin yoga session targeting glutes and hips

THURSDAY: 5 a.m. Masters-about 3000 yds and afternoon leg day-deadlifts, glutes

FRIDAY: Early morning shoulder lift with my dad-(who is still sore 🙂 and afternoon 6 miel run dunes

SATURDAY: Felt sluggish so cut 8 mile run to 6 miles in the dunes

SUNDAY: Long Run! 12.3 miles in Dunes to Cowles Bog-felt okay, nothing too sore or fatigued. I was really hungry the whole run though. I ate half a banana with a little bit of PB before hand, and had to ration and spread out my one chocolate PB GU at miles 6-9.

With an established work schedule that has me at night now three times a week for about 4-5 hours, my workouts will alter slightly. However, this is the goal. I want to keep up with lifting as heavy as I can and maintaining and building a strong base for running.

Goal races:

24 hour run this June-just for fun

100k or 100 mile in September – Woodstock in Michigan. Distance depends on amount and quality of training miles this summer

November marathon to re-qualify for Boston

January-Rocky Raccoon! First race of the year-go all out! photo 3-4photo 2-1

Leave a Reply

