Done with 1st marathon and ready for more!

Image

Before the race with my mom!

Yesterday I finished my first marathon! It was the the Carmel Marathon, in Carmel, IN. It was a great beginner marathon, being flat and easily accessible to my screaming and cheering mom and sister.

My plan was to hold 8:30’s for as long as I could, and then just hold on. So, heading out in the cold Ind. air, I stuck by the 3:40 pace guy from Oklahoma. Me along with 6-7 other runners stayed with him for as long we could. I dropped out of the group at mile 12 but continued on next the couple of miles in the 8:20-8:30 range.

Being a swimmer since I was 6, triathlons, rowing, and one horrible 2-mile swim, I can honestly say that I have done some difficult athletic events. After (and during) the marathon I realized, this is the hardest thing I have ever done!!

By mile 20 I was doing all right… the fatigue and “can I do this?” hit me at mile 22. I saw my sister and mom bouncing along at mile 24 and my mom jumped in and “paced” me the last two miles. And when I say “paced” I mean yelling at me to just make it up the last hill and catch the girl in pink! Honestly, I would not have finished that well without her! I did finish with the 3:45 pace guy, who sped up in the last miles to get done quicker. I officially finished in 3:44.04!! My goal was anywhere between 3:45-3:50, so ill take it!

Even though limping to the car took hours, the water from my shower pelting on the rubbed skin made me scream, and any movement from my legs was painful, I loved every minute of it. Sure, there were times I questioned my choice for my Saturday morning, but I am so glad to have run!

After I got home I realized I got 3rd in my age group. I could not believe I ran that fast! And I can not wait to do it again!

Image I don’t know when this was but I’m still moving!

First marathon is done and over, and I am wanting for more. In September I will be pacing my mom in her first 50 miler in Wisconsin and in October I will be begin my second marathon at the Chicago Marathon! I am so excited!

I know it is long way to go but I am looking forward to a long summer of hard training, and hopefully qualify for the 2015 Boston Marathon!

Image After! so tired!

Leave a Reply

